Yeezy Season


Tyler Gross, Online Editor

It’s finally happening. Kanye has finally announced that his new album Waves will be released February 11th. Now don’t quote me on that album cover because by the time this goes out he may change the title for a 4th time. The album began titled So Help Me God until Kanye changed the name to Swish in May of 2015 which is what it remained until he again changed it to Waves on January 26th.


Kanye released the tracklist to his upcoming album which contains 11 songs but includes 4 songs we’ve already heard: Fade, Wolves, Real Friends, and No More Parties in L.A. So far Kanye hasn’t been afraid to self promote his album. Kanye tweeted out a picture of the tracklist to the album then titled Swish and captioned it “So happy to be finished with the best album of all time.” He followed that up by later tweeting, “This is not the album of the year. This is the album of the life.” It’s easy to see that kanye has no shortage of confidence in his upcoming album, and based on the songs already released off the album, he has every right to his confidence.
It has been a long 2 and a half years since Kanye released a new album, dating back to June 2013 when he released Yeezus. I expect nothing short of brilliance from the self proclaimed God that is, Kanye West.